30 man squad - what age level should this be implemented?

This forum is for discussion relating to junior football.

Moderators: John Cena, Forum Admins

Laces thru the ball
Ball Boy
Ball Boy

30 man squad - what age level should this be implemented?

Post by Laces thru the ball »

Hi all,

Just wanted to canvas everyone's thoughts on what junior age group you think it is appropriate to introduce the 30 man squad system.

The 30 man squad system is when there are 30 players for two teams and the coach can promote and relegate players up and down at will between the two teams.

There are advantages and disadvantages to this system however I was hoping to gather the thoughts of the broader, experienced football communities opinion.

I played this wonderful game for over 35 years competitively via a high profile football club in Adelaide. I was a co-founder of an amateur club in Adelaide which still exists today and also coached juniors for many years. I have my opinion but wont divulge just yet as I would like your unbiased opinions. :)

Please take into consideration things like
1. The childs natural football development. e.g. During a game will the child be confident to take a shot outside the 18 yard box or will he/she decide not to shoot so as not to stuff up and get dropped the following week.

2. Social Rejection/Embarrassment. Getting dropped from the JPL to the JSL team is crushing at any level but at what age is the childs mind developed enough to handle this?

3. Team Bonding - having players coming in and out regularly may cause fractions and prevent true team unity.

look forward to your experienced opinions.
Cheers

matty2323
Bench Warmer
Bench Warmer

Re: 30 man squad - what age level should this be implemented

Post by matty2323 »

Laces thru the ball wrote:Hi all,

Just wanted to canvas everyone's thoughts on what junior age group you think it is appropriate to introduce the 30 man squad system.