League Tables|Fixtures|Match Results|Statistics|Club Information
League: Super League
Homepage: http://www.croatiaraiders.com.au
Description: Adelaide Croatia Soccer Club.

PO Box 8 Woodville SA 5011

Phone: 08-92985835
Fax: 08-82989855

Club Colours: Home - Red shirts, White shorts & Blue socks
Away - Blue shirts, Blue shorts & White socks

Australian Representatives:
Billy Graham, Jimmy McCabe, Charlie Welker, Charlie Perkins & Jaka Bonovic

Club Honours:
1st Division Champions: 1980, 1984, 1988, 1997 & 2002
2nd Division Champions: 1959
Federation Cup Winners: 1960, 1962, 1977, 1988, 1990, 1991 & 1992
U/23 League Champions: 2001
Bailetti Cup Winners: 1968
Coca Cola Cup Winners: 1984
Wills Cup Winners: 1971, 1973 & 1975
Ampol Cup Winners: 1961, 1989 & 1990
Top Five Runner Up: 1992

History: Source - History of Soccer in South Australia written by Denis Harlow and the Adelaide Croatia Soccer Club website.

Founded in 1952

The Adelaide Croatia Soccer Club was founded in 1952 by a gorup of Croatian migrants who named the club after their homeland. The group included the late Fahrudin Ceric, the then President, Cvjetko Milanovic & Drago Pispek.

They club affiliated with the SASFA and played in the metropolitan division for five years. Their first game against a team from the Phillips Factory at Hendon. Its first home ground was at the South parklands on Greenhill Rd.

In 1954, Mr Branko Filipi, who was a significant leader in the club's early history, became the club president and remained so for the next 14 years. This was a record which still stands today. Along with his enthusiastic committee, Mr Filipi began securing the services of a number of promising recruits. In 1958 Adelaide Croatia entered into the second division and narrowly missed being promoted into the first division. That same year, the late Charles Perkins, now remembered as a leading Aboriginal activist, joined the team and later represented Australia. Charles Perkins was one of the most well known individuals to come out of Adelaide Croatia Soccer Club. In his autobiography he reflected with fondness on his friendships with Adelaide Croats and other immigrants he met through the club. Football is a truly multicultural sport and Adelaide Croatia reflected this.

In 1959 the club convincingly won the second division championship and secured a place in the first division for the first time. Once in the first division, Adelaide Croatia's fixtures and results were listed in the international football pools. This was historically significant as Adelaide Croatia was the only Croatian team from Australia in the pools and its progress was thus followed by Croats all over the world.

In 1960 the club also made a move to its new headquarters at Hanson Reserve. There it remained until the year 2000 when it moved to its magnificent sporting complex at Gepps Cross.

The club's first major milestone was in 1961 when Croatia downed Cumberland 4-nil to win the Ampol Cup. The Advertiser, in its report on the match, wrote that no team in the state could have beaten Croatia on that performance. The club then moved from strength to strength and became a force in local football. But it wasn't until 1980 that Croatia won the coveted first place in the first division. Since then Croatia has won the league on another four occasions: in 1984, 1988, 1997 and 2002.
Home Stadium: Croatian Sports Centre

Return to Clubs Listing

Sorry, But you need to be logged in to View or Vote in the Polls.