Cartwright and Fleetwood tie for Sergio Melta Medal
6:49 PM Mon 23rd Oct, 2006 - Admin
Michael Cartwright and Nathan Fleetwood both capped off impressive seasons to tie for the Sergio Melta Medal for the best and fairest award in the BEST Super League in front
of more than 400 people at the 2006 Football Federation Awards night at the Adelaide Convention Centre on Friday.

Raiders’ Cartwright and Campbelltown City’s Fleetwood, both finished on 18 points, one ahead of Adelaide Galaxy midfielder Jim Stavrides and Modbury midfielder Aaron
Westervelt. A former Adelaide City, Football Kingz and Northern Spirit National Soccer League (NSL) player, Cartwright, 27 years old, played 18 matches for Raiders in the 2006 BEST Super League and scored 8 goals. Cartwright becomes the second Raiders’ Sergio Melta Medal winner in three years, after Richie Alagich won the award in 2004 and overall third Raiders/Croatia winner of the Player of Year award since inaugural winner Billy Graham in 1965 with the then named West End Medal.

Fleetwood, 24 years old, moved to Newton from Woodville West preseason with coach Rocky Aloisi, played 14 matches for Campbelltown City in the 2006 BEST Super League and scored 2 goals. Fleetwood becomes the third Campbelltown City player to win the Sergio Melta Medal with Geoff Booth (John Martin Medal in 1977) and Tony Scalzi in 1999. It is also the second time that a Campbelltown City player has been a joint winner, with Scalzi tying with John Fontanarosa (Croydon) and Les Matiscsak (Cumberland United) in 1999

2006 BEST Super League Top 10 Votes:
1. Michael Cartwright (Raiders) 18 points
1. Nathan Fleetwood (Campbelltown City) 18 points
3. Jim Stavrides (Adelaide Galaxy) 17 points
3. Aaron Westervelt (Modbury) 17 points
5. Adriano Pellegrino (Adelaide City) 14 points
5. Matthew Muscroft (Adelaide Galaxy) 14 points
7. Paul Pezos (Adelaide City) 13 points
8. Nick Budin (Adelaide City) 12 points
8. Michael Pirone (Blue Eagles) 12 points
8. Oliver Totani (Campbelltown City) 12 points

Here are the votes for the various awards:

BEST Super League

Adelaide Blue Eagles
Michael Pirone 12
Sam Farncombe 10
Diego Pellegrini 9
Gianluca Lagati 6
Damien DiMella 4

Adelaide City
Adriano Pellegrino 14
Paul Pezos 13
Nick Budin 12
David Paladino 9
Damien Mori 8

Adelaide Galaxy
Jim Stavrides 17
Matthew Muscroft 14
Paul Karritvelis 7
Ryan Manolev 7
Steven Grelli 6

Campbelltown City
Nathan Fleetwood 18
Oliver Totani 12
Elias Demourtzides 7
Domenic Signorello 6
Paul Savio 5

Cumberland United
Eli Vlassis 9
Damien Gagliardi 7
Mike Harkness 7
Vas Parhas 4
Carl Robinson 3

Modbury Aaron
Westervelt 17
Michael Menechella 11
Louis Brain 9
David Crowl 9
Nathan Day 5

Ivan Karlovic 9
Tony Hatzis 7
Michele Lastella 7
Ala Mobedi 6
Fabian Barbiero 4

Michael Cartwright 18
George Kaligerias 5
Mimi Saric 5
Claus Nielson 4
Steve DeGiovaniello 4

White City
Kris Trajanovski 11
Chad Bugeja 7
Michael Keens 7
Carmine Spagnoletti 2
Yianni Sarris 2

Simon Catanzaro 8
Carl Robinson 8
Michael Rodesthenous 5
Michael Papacharalamou 3
Stavros Parrisos 2

BEST Premier League

Adelaide Hills
Nathan Elliott 11
Simon Wegner 10
Mark Donk 7
Daniel Bieze 6

Fortunato Filletti 11
Joe Lagana 9
John Motley 7
Lyndon Parry 5

Enfield City
Shane Pearce 31
Mark Graham 11
Dimitri Parhas 7
George Mitropoulos 7

Northern Demons
Anthony Fasciano 20
Angelo Pavanello 12
Adam Giancaspro 11

Noarlunga United
Fraser Keegan 6
Brian Llyod Roberts 6
Scott Huybregts 5

Danny Graystone 11
Nathan Kosmina 9
Para Hills Ken Tosh 15
Matthew Mullen 9
Nick Orr 9

Playford City
Todd McSorely 14
Michael Edwards 9
Scott Window 8

Procopis Loizides 16
Kieran McFayden 12
Joe Blefari 8

Salisbury United
Steven Johnstone 11
Peter Waine 8
Peter Nezda 6

BEST State League

Adelaide Cobras
Con Karritevlis 26
Greg Hagias 21
Paul Tsoukalas 12

Adelaide Comets
John McCool 17
John Christopoulos 14
Nek Galanopoulos 13

Rhys Sinclair 11
Ricky Hall 10
Daniel Truscott 8

Port Pirie City
Joe Amato 9
Joe Rechichi 9

Chris Doyle 9
Con Kokkinoplitis 7
Josh McMillan 5

James Cervone 9
Kosta Amanatadis 7

Western Strikers
Adam Mallia 17
Francesco Muscara 16
Michael Russo 11

Charlie Caruso Trophy (Super League U23)
1. Rocco Visconte SASI 23
2. Paul Bearzotti Adelaide City 16
3. Michael DeBono SASI 15
4. Dejan Jasovic White City 13
Daniel Waddelow White City 13
Jamie Carbone Adelaide City 13
7. Bron Harder Cumberland Utd 12
Eric Camarinha Raiders 12
9. Damien Crettenden Blue Eagles 11
David Zerillo Adelaide City 11
Stephen Day Modbury 11

Len Alagich Trophy (Premier League U23)
1. Yaser Mahmoud Enfield City 15
2. Ali Toure Pirates 13
3. Michael Burke Noarlunga Utd 11
Christian Slouniec Croydon 11
5. Steven Varacalli Playford City 10
Jamie Kidd Salisbury Utd 10
Alex Field Adelaide Hills 10
8. Matt Gregor Para Hills 9
Greg Esposito Salisbury United 9

Peter Nikolich Trophy (State League U23)
1. Antonio Casamiro Adelaide Cobras 20
2. Daniel Ricci NAB 18
3. Tony Deminico Adelaide Comets 16
4. Kerry Philipou Adelaide Cobras 14
5. Greg Nikolopoulos Adelaide Comets 13
6. Damien Jelfs Western Strikers 11
Steve Kovac Seaford 11
8. Tim Theori NAB 10
Francesco Costa Western Strikers 10
Gianni Festa Western Strikers 10

John Francis Trophy (Super League U19)
1. Andrew Ciarla MetroStars 20
2. Kieran Kellett Adelaide Galaxy 18
Anthony Solagna Modbury 18
4. Dino Kristo Raiders 16
Junior Kamara White City 16
6. Milos Radocaj White City 15
7. Francesco Monterosso MetroStars 14
Mark Lobianko Adelaide City 14

Rab Jones Trophy (Premier League U19)
1. Patrick Keane Northern Demons 17
2. Steve Butler Playford City 16
3. Matthew Lythe Panthers 14
Michael Passalaqua Pirates 14
5. Craig Johnson Playford City 13

Les Avory Trophy (State League U19)
1. Alor Bulabek Adelaide Cobras 28
2. Michael Capaldi NAB 24
3. Dion Stamatelopoulos Adelaide Comets 19
4. Jimmy Nelson Adelaide Cobras 13
Rocky Romeo NAB 13

Sergio Melta Medal
(BEST Super League) Michael Cartwright Raiders
Nathan Fleetwood Campbelltown City
Bob Telfer Medal
(BEST Premier League) Shane Pearce Enfield City
Milan Ivanovic Medal
(BEST State League) Con Karritevlis Adelaide Cobras
Golden Boot
(BEST Super League) Damien Mori Adelaide City
BEST Super League
Coach of the Year Damien Mori Adelaide City
BEST Premier League
Coach of the Year Robert DiTroia Para Hills
BEST State League
Coach of the Year Doug Paterson Adelaide Comets
Charlie Caruso Award
(U23 Super League) Rocco Visconte SASI
Len Alagich Award
(U23 Premier League) Yaser Mahmoud Enfield City
Peter Nikolich Award
(U23 State League) Antonio Casimiro Adelaide Cobras
John Francis Award
(U19 Super League) Andrew Ciarla MetroStars
Rab Jones Award
(U19 Premier League) Patrick Keane Northern Demons
Les Avory Award
(U19 State League) Alor Bulabek Adelaide Cobras
Mike Ingham Award
(Referee of Year) David Alberton
Mick O’Malley Award
(Young Referee of Year) Peter Chapman
2006 Super League
Team of the Year Ben Moore Adelaide City
Ivan Karlovic MetroStars
George Tsonis Adelaide City
Paul Savio Campbelltown City
Paul Pezos Adelaide City
Louis Brain Modbury
Kris Trajanovski White City
Michael Matricciani Campbelltown City
Damien Mori Adelaide City
Nathan Fleetwood Campbelltown City
Shane Thompson Cumberland United
Source: FFSA
Sorry, But you need to be logged in to View or Vote in the Polls.