Joeys one step closer to World Cup Qualification
11:54 PM Mon 12th Oct, 2009 - Admin
The Qantas Joeys have maintained their unbeaten qualification campaign for the AFC Under-16 Championship 2010 with a 6-0 victory over Laos in Canberra today.

The win moves the Qantas Joeys four points clear at the top of the table and will need a draw or a win in their final match against Malaysia to qualify for the AFC U-16 Championship 2010. Indeed if Laos defeat Malaysia in their next match on Wednesday, the Qantas Joeys will qualify not matter what the result of their final match against Malaysia is on Friday.

The Qantas Joeys started strongly and had the first chance of the game when midfielder Brodie Paterson played Jake Monaco through on goal but Malaysian goal-keeper Thinnakone Souliyamath raced off his line to cut down the angle and deny Paterson.

Laos nearly took the lead in the 22nd minute when a cross from Lembo Saysana from the right wing took a deflection towards goal which forced Qantas Joeys goal-keeper Lachlan Tibbles to palm the ball over the crossbar.

Shortly afterwards, a first-time shot from Giancarlo Gallifuoco from the top of the 18-yard box, after good build up from captain Milos Degenek and Jesse Makarounas, nearly had the Qantas Joeys in front but a good save from Souliyamath kept the scores level.

Gallifuoco made no mistake just before the half-hour mark when he was given a second opportunity only minutes later after a pin point cross from Jakob Williams found the striker at the backpost who headed home over the finger tips of Thinnakone.

Ten minutes from half time, Makarounas had a golden opportunity to extend the lead but couldn’t hit the target with his header from directly in front narrowly missing the far post.

The Qantas Joeys doubled their lead in the shadow of half-time when Makarounas converted his next opportunity. Alex Cerruto was played down the left hand wing by Monaco before cutting the ball back across the face of goal to Makarounas who was waiting at the back post.

Laos’ best chance of the half came on the stroke of half time when Lembo received the ball and turned at the top of the box. His shot wrong footed Tibbles but narrowly missed the target after taking a slight deflection.

Opportunities were scarce for both teams early in the second half with the conditions getting slippery as the rain fell.

The Qantas Joeys extended their lead in the 70th minute when they capitalised on a handling error by Thinnakone who fumbled a corner towards his own goal. Hayden Morton was on hand to tap home the rebound.

Paterson nearly made it 4-0 when his shot from well outside the area had the keeper beaten but struck the crossbar, but the midfielder made amends minutes later when his corner was headed home by Connor Chapman.

Qantas Joeys substitutes, Joshua Da Silva and Stevan Ilic had a big impact on the match when they combined twice late in the second half.

Ilic twice beat the off side trap to score two late goals after perfect through balls from Da Silva each time.
Qantas Joeys Head Coach Jean-Paul de Marigny was very pleased with the effort from his squad following the disappointing draw with Malaysia on the weekend.

“The most pleasing thing is that the players are improving and adapting to the style of football we want them to play every game they play,” de Marigny said following the match.

“The movement was better off the ball, there was good interchange in the midfield, they were patient and they waited for the right moment.”

“It’s a long process and it doesn’t happen over the night, they’re young boys so if we can see that we’re taking steps forward and making improvement all the time it’s very rewarding for them and the coaching staff so we’re happy,” concluded de Marigny.

The Qantas Joeys final match of the AFC U-16 Championship will be against Malaysia on Friday afternoon.
Match Details:

Qantas Joeys 6 (Gallifuoco 29’, Makarounas 45’, Morton 70’, Chapman 76’, Ilic 80’/90’,)
Laos 0
Canberra, Australia

Qantas Joeys line-up: 1. Lachlan Tibbles, 2. Samuel Chapple, 4. Connor Chapman, 5. Hayden Morton, 6. Milos Degenek (c), 7. Jake Monaco, 9. Jesse Makarounas (23. Stevan Ilic 73’), 11. Brodie Paterson, 14. Alex Cerruto (37. Luke Remington 79’), 15. Giancarlo Gallifuoco (10. Joshua Da Silva 60’), 16. Jakob Williams

Substitutes Not Used: 3. Andrew Mullett, 8. Yianni Perkatis , 12. Daniel Sadaka, 13. Corey Brown, 20. Kwame Yeboah, 21. Allan Welsh, 24. Kwabena Boahene, 32. Aaron Liddell (gk),

Yellow Cards: Gallifuoco 52’
Red Cards: Nil

Laos line-up: 2. Thinnakone Souliyamath, 3. Phoutthakone Keovongsa, 4. Yulananh Souksavanath, 5. Tiengkham Bounyaxaysy, 7. Chanthaphone Waenvongsoth (15. Southinh Sayalath 59’), 9. Nidnilanh Chanchaleune, 10. Khonesavanh Sihavong (c), 11. Lembo Saysana, 13. Sitthideth Khanthavong (12. Phoutdavy Phommasane 72’), 14. Sengdao Inthilath (16. Samphansay Phoutthakhoun 84’), 18. Anousak Noyvong (gk)

Substitutes Not Used: 1. Phonepaseuth Vongsipasom, 6. Souksakhone Vongsa, 8. Sitthisay Nanthavong, 17. Souksavanh Sisongkham,

Yellow Cards: Sitthideth 23’
Red Cards: Nil

AFC U-16 Championships 2010 (Qualifiers) - Group H
Official Match Schedule
6–16 October 2009
McKellar Park, Canberra, ACT

Group H

Date Fixture Kick-off (AEDT)
Tuesday 6 October 2009 Australia 7:0 Laos 2:00pm
Thursday 8 October 2009 Malaysia 0:6 Laos 2:00pm
Saturday 10 October 2009 Australia 2:2 Malaysia 2:00pm
Monday 12 October 2009 Laos 0:6 Australia 2:00pm
Wednesday 14 October 2009 Laos v Malaysia 2:00pm
Friday 16 October 2009 Malaysia v Australia 2:00pm

AFC U-16 Championships 2010 (Qualifiers) - Group H

P W D L F A GD Pts
Australia 3 2 1 0 15 2 13 7
Laos 3 1 0 2 6 13 -7 3
Malaysia 2 0 1 1 2 8 -6 1

AFC U-16 Championship (Qualifiers)
McKellar Park, Canberra, ACT
6-16 October 2009

Name Institute and/or Club
Kobbie Boahene VIS/Altona East JSC
Corey Brown QAS/Brisbane City FC
Alex Cerruto NSWIS/Marconi Stallions
Connor Chapman NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks
Samuel Chapple NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks
Joshua Da Silva NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks
Milos Degenek NSWIS/Blacktown City Demons
Hernan Espindola VIS/Brimbank
Giancarlo Gallifuoco NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks
Stevan Ilic NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks
Aaron Liddell Marconi Stallions
Jesse Makarounas Football West/Perth SC
Jake Monaco SASI/Western Strikers
Hayden Morton NSWIS/Sutherland Sharks
Andrew Mullett VIS/FC Bulleen Lions
Brodie Paterson VIS/Chelsea
Yianni Perkatis NSWIS/Marconi Stallions
Luke Remington NNSWIS/Macquarie
Daniel Sadaka Sutherland Sharks
Lachlan Tibbles NSWIS/Marconi Stallions
Abe Wheelhouse NNSWIS/Macquarie
Jakob Williams ACTAS/Tuggeranong United
Kwame Yeboah QAS/Gold Coast
Source: FFA
Sorry, But you need to be logged in to View or Vote in the Polls.