Article
Hyundai A-League 2007/08 — Round 1 Preview
2:46 PM Thu 23rd Aug, 2007 - Admin
The A-League team captains in Sydney.jpg
Sydney FC v Central Coast Mariners

Friday 24 August 2007

Kick-Off 8:00pm AEST (10:00pm NZST, 7:30pm ACST, 6:00pm AWST)

Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney

TV: Live & Exclusive Fox Sports (www.foxsports.com.au) - Match broadcast commences 7:30pm AEST (7:00pm ACST, 5:30pm AWST), Sky Sports 3 (www.skytv.co.nz) - Match broadcast commences 10:00pm NZST.

Radio: Coast FM 96.3FM (Central Coast) - www.coastfm.org.au

Tickets: Ticketek — available via internet or phone and at the venue. Call 132 849 or visit www.ticketek.com.au

Sydney FC Squad: 1.Clint BOLTON (gk), 2.Iain FYFE, 3.Nikolas TSATTALIOS, 4.Mark RUDAN, 6.Tony POPOVIC (Captain), 9.David ZDRILIC, 10.Steve CORICA, 14.Alex BROSQUE, 15.Terry McFLYNN, 16.Mark MILLIGAN, 19.Michael ENFIELD, 21.Adam BIDDLE, 22.JUNINHO, 23.Ufuk TALAY, 30.Matthew NASH (gk).

In: Iain Fyfe (return from injury), Steve Corica (return from injury), Juninho (promoted).

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Robbie Middleby (ankle - two weeks), Brendon Santalab (two weeks - virus), Patrick (awaiting international clearance), Ben Vidaic (thigh - two weeks), Jacob Timpano (thigh - six weeks), Adam Casey (hamstring - two weeks), Ivan Necevski (ankle - six weeks) Ruben Zadkovich (International Duty).

Central Coast Mariners Squad: 1.Matthew TROTT (gk), 2.Matt SIMON, 5.Bradley PORTER, 6.Andre GUMPRECHT, 7.John HUTCHINSON, 8.Dean HEFFERNAN, 9.Nik MRDJA, 10.Tom PONDELJAK, 11.Damien BROWN, 12.Greg OWENS, 13.Tony VIDMAR, 15.Andrew CLARK, 16.Nigel BOOGAARD, 17.Matthew OSMAN, 18.Alex WILKINSON (Captain), 19.Adam KWASNIK, 20.Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 22.Sasho PETROVSKI, 23.Mile JEDINAK, 30.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk).

*five to be omitted

In: Nil

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Stats, Facts & Milestones:

Central Coast Mariners did not win any of their last five matches of the Hyundai A-League 2006/07 season and will therefore be aiming not to equal their longest streak of winless matches in the Hyundai A-League when they travel to the Sydney Football Stadium to take on Sydney FC.

Queensland Roar v Adelaide United

Saturday 25 August 2007

Kick-Off pm 7:00pm AEST (9:00pm NZST, 6:30pm ACST, 5:00pm AWST)

Suncorp Stadium, Queensland

TV: Live & Exclusive Fox Sports (www.foxsports.com.au) - Match broadcast commences 7:00pm AEST (6:30pm ACST, 5:00pm AWST)

Radio: Fresh FM (Adelaide) 92.7FM www.freshfm.com.au

Tickets: Ticketek — available via internet or phone and at the venue. Call 132 849 or visit www.ticketek.com.au

Queensland Roar Squad: 1.Liam REDDY (gk), 4.Craig MOORE, 6.Stuart McLAREN, 8.Massimo MURDOCCA, 9.Simon LYNCH, 10.Ante MILICIC, 11.REINALDO, 12.Tahj MINNIECON, 14.Ben GRIFFIN, 15.Matt McKAY, 18.Danny TIATTO,19. Sasa Ognenovski, 21.Chris GROSSMAN, 23.MARCINHO, 30.Griffin McMASTER (gk).

In: Nil

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Hyuk-Su Seo (suspended — 2 weeks), Mitch Nichols (suspended — 1 week), Robbie Kruse (facial injury — 3 weeks), Andrew Packer (hamstring — 2 weeks), Matt Ham (shoulder injury — out for season).

Adelaide United Squad: 20.Robert BAJIC (gk), 2.Richie ALAGICH, 4.Angelo COSTANZO, 5.Michael VALKANIS (Captain), 6.CASSIO, 7.Lucas PANTELIS, 9.Paul AGOSTINO, 10.Nathan BURNS, 11.Bruce DJITE, 13.Travis DODD, 15.Jonas SALLEY, 16.Bobby PETTA, 17.Isyan ERDOGAN, 18.Robert CORNTHWAITE, 21.Jason SPAGNUOLO, 22.DIEGO, 40.Scott HIGGINS (gk).

* two to be omitted

In: Paul Agostino (return from injury)

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Dez Giraldi (quad — 2 weeks), Milan Susak (hamstring — 4 weeks)

Stats, Facts & Milestones

Queensland Roar will be aiming to break a home-game hoodoo against Adelaide United - never before have the Roar defeated Adelaide United at Suncorp Stadium in the Hyundai A-League.

Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne Victory

Sunday 26 August 2007

Kick-Off 4:00pm NZST (2:00pm AEST, 1:30pm ACST, 12:00pm AWST)

Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand

TV: Sky Sport (www.skytv.co.nz) - Match broadcast commences 3:00pm NZST, Live & Exclusive Fox Sports (www.foxsports.com.au) - Match broadcast commences 2:00pm AEST (1:30pm ACST, 12:00pm AWST).

Radio: The Radio Network (www.radionetwork.co.nz) 1035 AM Wellington www.radionetwork.co.nz

Tickets: Ticketek - available via internet or phone and at the venue. Call 0800 TICKETEK (0800 84253835) or 04 3843840 or visit www.ticketek.co.nz

Wellington Phoenix Squad: 1.Mark PASTON (gk), 2.Jeremy CHRISTIE, 3.Tony LOCHHEAD, 4.CLEBERSON, 5.Karl DODD, 6.Tim BROWN, 7.Ross ALOISI (Captain), 8.Vaughan COVENY, 9.Shane SMELTZ, 10.Michael FERRANTE, 11.DANIEL, 12.Richard JOHNSON, 13.Steven OLD, 14.Steven O’DOR, 15.George PALADINI, 19.Greg DRAPER, 20.Glen MOSS (gk), 21.Felipe CAMPOS, 22.Royce BROWNLIE, 30.Jacob SPOONLEY.

*five to be omitted

In: Nil

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Vince LIA (hamstring — 1 week), Costa BARBAROUSES (international duty — 1 week).

Melbourne Victory Squad: 1.Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 2.Kevin MUSCAT (Captain), 3.Daniel PIORKOWSKI, 5.Ljubo MILICEVIC, 7.Matthew KEMP, 8.Grant BREBNER, 9.Daniel ALLSOPP, 10.Archie THOMPSON, 11.Joseph KEENAN, 12.Rodrigo VARGAS, 13.Kaz PATAFTA, 14.Adrian CACERES, 16.Carlos HERNANDEZ, 18.Leigh BROXHAM, 20.Eugene GALEKOVIC.

In: Nil

Out: Steve PANTELIDIS (Omitted), Leandro LOVE (Omitted), Daniel VASILEVSKI (Omitted), Evan BERGER (Omitted), Mitchell LANGERAK (Omitted).

Unavailable: Nil

Stats, Facts & Milestones

Wellington Phoenix will be aiming to break New Zealand's largest crowd record for a Hyundai A-League match, which currently stands at 9827 (New Zealand Knights v Sydney FC @ North Harbour Stadium, Round 2, 2005/06). The largest New Zealand crowd in the former NSL was 13,111 for Football Kingz 1 v Marconi 0, 16-Mar-01)

Perth Glory v Newcastle Jets

Sunday 26 August 2007

Kick-Off 3:00pm AWST (7:00pm NZST, 5:00pm AEST, 4:30pm ACST)

Members Equity Stadium, Perth

TV: Live & Exclusive Fox Sports (www.foxsports.com.au) - Match broadcast commences 5:00pm AEST (4:30pm ACDT, 3:00pm AWST), Sky Sports (www.skytv.co.nz) - Match broadcast commences 7:00pm NZST.

Radio: 6PR 882AM (Perth) www.mytalk.com.au; SportFM (Perth); 90.5FM www.905.com.au; ABC 1233 Newcastle (1233AM) — www.abc.net.au/newcastle.

Tickets: Ticketmaster - available via internet or phone and at the venue. Visit www.ticketmaster.com.au or call 136100.

Perth Glory Squad: 30.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY, 3.David TARKA, 4.Simon COLOSIMO (Captain), 5.Jamie HARNWELL, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Anthony DANZE, 8.David MICEVSKI, 9.Mate DRAGICEVIC, 10.Billy CELESKI, 12.Leo BERTOS, 13.Nikita RUKAVYTSYA, 14.Jamie COYNE, 15.Mitchell PRENTICE, 16.Nick RIZZO, 17.Jimmy DOWNEY, 19.Naum SEKULOVSKI, 50.Tommi TOMICH (gk).

* three to be omitted

In: Nil

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Jason PETKOVIC (leg — 9 weeks), Stan LAZARIDIS, Hayden FOXE (knee — 9 weeks), James ROBINSON (thigh — 2 weeks)

Newcastle Jets Squad: 1.Ante COVIC (gk), 2.Adam GRIFFITHS, 3.Jade NORTH (Captain), 4.Steve EAGLETON, 5.Stuart MUSIALIK, 6 Andrew DURANTE, 7.Jorge DROVANDI 8.Matt THOMPSON, 9.Joel GRIFFITHS, 11.Tarek ELRICH, 12.Paul KOHLER, 13.Adam D’APUZZO, 14.Jobe WHEELHOUSE, 15.Scott TUNBRIDGE, 17.Troy HEARFIELD, 18 Noel SPENCER, 19.Mark BRIDGE, 40.Ben MacNamara (GK).

*three to be omitted

Unavailable: 16. Craig DEANS (injured), 20. Ben KENNEDY (GK) (injured).

Stats, Facts & Milestones

Perth Glory will be aiming to continue an impressive run of home match results in the Hyundai A-League: despite finishing in the wrong half of the final ladder last season, the Glory did not lose any of their final five matches. The Glory last lost a fixture at Members Equity Stadium on 15-Oct-07 (L1-2 v Queensland Roar).
Source: FFA
POLLS
Sorry, But you need to be logged in to View or Vote in the Polls.